Most Popular
Recently Added
Recently Updated

Recommendations for deleting IMAP email messages

IMAP users will likely find that when a message is deleted it remains in the mailbox with a line through it or a cross next to it until deleted messages are purged.

However for some email applications it is possible to set trash email to delete automatically.


Thunderbird

IMAP users

Tools > Account Settings > Server Settings (located under IMAP account name)

Next to the field 'When I delete a message:' click on the down arrow and select Move it to deleted folder
Or, Remove it immediately if that is an option.

Also ensure to select Empty Deleted folder on Exit
Or, Empty Trash on Exit if that is an option.

POP users go to:

Tools > Account Settings > Server Settings (located under POP account name)

Select the option to Empty deleted folder on exit
Or, Empty Trash on Exit if that is an option.



Eudora 6.2.5/7.1 for the PC & Mac

IMAP users:

It is not possible to automate deletion with IMAP. You will need to either have the messages marked for deletion and purge them (Windows users). Or you can choose to move the messages to your IMAP trash folder but you must remember to manually empty your deleted mail otherwise it will stay on your account and use up your space. (Mac and Windows users)

For details on how to set up either one of these options see the Eudora Help for step by step instructions (Windows users).

For Mac users, to manually empty your IMAP trash mailbox click on:

Special > Empty Trash

POP users go to:

Windows users:

Tools > Options > Miscellaneous

Select the option to Empty Trash when exiting

Mac users:

Special > Settings > Miscellaneous

Select the option to Empty Trash on Quit


Outlook 2003

IMAP users:

When a message is deleted using Outlook with IMAP, the message is marked for deletion (a line is put through it).

You do not have the option to move it to a 'deleted' folder or purge on exit. Messages must therefore be routinely purged. It is important to make sure however, that messages are purged and not simply hidden.

Edit > Purge deleted

POP users go to:

Tools > Options > Other

Select the option to Empty Trash when exiting


Outlook 2007

IMAP users:

When a message is deleted using Outlook with IMAP, the message is marked for deletion (a line is put through it).

You do not have the option to move it to a 'deleted' folder or purge on exit. Messages must therefore be routinely purged. It is important to make sure however, that messages are purged and not simply hidden.

Edit > Purge > Purge marked items in Inbox

OR

Purge marked items in <account name> (this will delete messages marked for deletion in all of your mailboxes, not just your Inbox)

Alternatively you can set Outlook to purge your deleting items every time you switch folders:

Edit > Purge > Purge Options. Put a tick in the box next to Purge items when switching folders online.

POP users go to:

Tools > Options > Other

Select the option to Empty deleted items when exiting


Outlook Express

IMAP users go to:

Tools > Options > Maintenance

Put a tick in the option to Purge deleted messages when deleting IMAP folders.

Please note, the deleted mail will automatically purge when you Exit Outlook Express or if you click on your Local folders and go back to your IMAP folders.

POP users go to:

Tools > Options > Maintenance

Select the option to Empty messages from the 'Deleted Items' folder on exit.


iPhone

IMAP users go to:

Settings > Mail, Contacts, Calendars then choose your IMAP account
Advanced > Deleted Mailbox, put a tick in Trash then go back and press Done.

POP users go to:

Settings > Mail, Contacts, Calendars
Tap the desired account under Accounts.
Advanced > Delete from server under Incoming Settings.
Select Seven days to have iPhone Mail remove mail from the server a week after it has been downloaded.


Properties ID: 000147   Views: 45481   Updated: 8 years ago
Filed under: